Greek Orthodox

Greek Orthodox The Greek Orthodox Church is a term attributed to numerous Churches within Eastern Orthodox Christianity, whose liturgy is or was conducted in Greek, the original language of the New Testament. These Churches do not consider themselves as separate, but rather as administrative units of a single Orthodox Church. This term includes the four Patriarchates (the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople, the Greek Orthodox Church of Alexandria, of Antioch and of Jerusalem), the Church of Greece, the Church of Cyprus, the Orthodox Church of Mount Sinai and the Orthodox Church of Albania.

The Church of Greece is an autocephalous church and its territory expands to the borders of Greece before the Balkan Wars. Greek Orthodoxy was a type of ethnic identity during the Greek War of Independence and had been included in the first modern constitution of Greece. The supreme authority of the Greek church is the Holy Synod of the Church of Greece, in which participate all bishops with metropolitan status, under the de jure presidency of the Archbishop of Athens and All Greece. The Church of Greece was originally under the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople, but was later declared autocephalous by the Bavarian Regents of King Otto in 1833.

See Also:

Thank you for contacting

Thank you for your enquiry to Villas, in partnership with ISV. Our Villa Experts will get back to you very soon with more information on your Greece villa holiday!

The contact form was not sent. Please contact us via email at [email protected]

All form fields are required.

If you want to add, edit or delete a Business page, CLICK HERE to create a Account