Greek Universities

Greek Universities All of the Tertiary state – accredited universities in Greece are public. Most studies last four years full – time, awarding a ptychion, which is ranked slightly higher than a bachelor’s degree. Other studies, such as those in a Polytechnic school, last five years; in this case, the degree awarded is equivalent to a bachelor’s and a master’s degree. Five – year programmes include engineering, dentistry, pharmacology, agronomics, forestry, as well as some programmes in fine arts. Medicine is the only programme that lasts six years full – time.

There are 22 public universities in Greece. These are the Agricultural University of Athens, the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (with campuses in Thessaloniki, Veria and Serres), the Athens School of Fine Arts, the Athens University of Economics and Business, the Democritus University of Thrace (with campuses in Komotini, Xanthi, Alexandroupoli and Orestiada), the Harokopio University in Athens, the Ionian University, the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, the National Technical University of Athens, the Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences in Athens, the Technical University of Crete, the University of the Aegean (with campuses in Lesvos, Chios, Samos, Rhodes, Syros and Lemnos), the University of Crete (with campuses in Heraklion and Rethymno), the University of Ioannina (with campuses in Ioannina and Agrinio), the University of Macedonia (with campuses in Thessaloniki, Edessa and Naoussa), the University of Patras, the University of Peloponnese (with campuses in Tripoli, Korinthos, Kalamata, Nafplio and Sparti), the University of Piraeus, the University of Thessaly (with campuses in Larissa, Volos, Karditsa and Trikala), and the University of Western Macedonia (with campuses in Florina and Kozani). There is also the Hellenic Open University, which has distance – learning programmes, as well as the International Hellenic University in Thessaloniki, which offers postgraduate studies in various fields, taught in English. There were also two other universities, the University of Central Greece and the University of Western Greece, but were both closed down in 2013 and merged with the University of Thessaly and Patras respectively.

There are also 15 Technological Educational Institutes, which were first established in 1983. They offer four – year programmes leading to bachelor’s degrees; lately, they have also started programmes leading to master’s degrees and PhDs. Concerning colleges, the constitution of Greece clearly states that tertiary level education shall be exclusively provided by public universities. However, colleges have started tertiary education programmes under agreements with universities in other European Union countries, leading to degrees awarded by those universities. Numerous colleges have opened in Athens and Thessaloniki in the past few years, offering degrees that have fully recognized professional rights.

See Also:

Thank you for contacting

Thank you for your enquiry to Villas, in partnership with ISV. Our Villa Experts will get back to you very soon with more information on your Greece villa holiday!

The contact form was not sent. Please contact us via email at [email protected]

All form fields are required.

If you want to add, edit or delete a Business page, CLICK HERE to create a Account