Greek Government

Greek Government The Greek government or cabinet of Greece is officially called the Ministerial Council. It is the decision – making body of the Hellenic Republic, composed of the Prime Minister and the Ministers. The Prime Minister may also assign one or more Deputy Prime Ministers among the Ministers by decree. The Ministerial Council must abide and is regulated by the Constitution of Greece, and it meets at the building of the Hellenic Parliament in Athens.

Greece has a parliamentary representative democratic republic and the Hellenic Parliament is the legislative power. Throughout the post – dictatorship period of Greece after 1973, the only two political parties that formed governments were liberal – conservative ND and social – democratic PASOK.
The current Ministerial Council was sworn in in June 2012 and initially consisted of members of the three parties that formed the coalition government; ND, PASOK and DIMAR. The latter left the coalition government in June 2013, protesting for the sudden closure of the National Television broadcaster ERT; as a result, ND and PASOK have a slim majority in the Hellenic Parliament, represented by 153 Members of the Parliament out of a total 300. The government reshuffle that followed the withdrawal of DIMAR enhanced the role of PASOK significantly.

See Also:

Thank you for contacting

Thank you for your enquiry to Villas, in partnership with ISV. Our Villa Experts will get back to you very soon with more information on your Greece villa holiday!

The contact form was not sent. Please contact us via email at [email protected]

All form fields are required.

If you want to add, edit or delete a Business page, CLICK HERE to create a Account